News Archive


Tweet Sunday 14th January 2018

British Orienteering Volunteer and Club Awards

Nominations are now open!

Volunteers are at the heart of our sport – let’s take this opportunity together and join in celebrating the work of our own volunteers and their incredible contributions to our sport of orienteering throughout the last year!

British Orienteering is now once again asking people to nominate inspiring individuals and clubs for the annual Volunteer, Club and Mapping Awards.

The awards have become a highlight of the British Orienteering calendar as a way of recognizing the good work of volunteers and clubs who make orienteering happen across the UK.

These awards present a valuable opportunity for volunteers to be honoured for their work to our sport.

Nominations are now open for the 2018 awards which recognise volunteer contributions to orienteering over the last 12 months in 2017.

The winners will be announced at the British Orienteering’s 2018 Annual General Meeting on Friday 30 March at Stafford in the West Midlands.

As in previous years, there will be 5 categories, spanning all aspects of orienteering.

Nominees can include a young volunteer who has shown dedication and commitment to the sport, a club that has shown an outstanding contribution to the provision and development of orienteering, or a volunteer who has given countless hours to helping their individual club be its best.

Each year we have received many nominations, and we are now asking you to make sure that there are just as many this year. Nominations can come from individuals, clubs and mappers or anyone who knows someone who is doing great work to develop the sport.

You can nominate in the following 5 categories.


Club of the Year Award

Is your club an important part of the local community?

  • Providing opportunities for everyone to experience high-quality activities at all levels of your sport or recreation?
  • Demonstrating a commitment to the development of participants as well as coaches and volunteers?
  • Taking an innovative approach to the promotion of the club?

If your club can answer “Yes” to the above, why enter your club into the British Orienteering Club of the Year Award?

Get the national recognition your club deserves.

Nomination Forms are available here.


University Club of the Year Award

Introduced in 2009 by the Development Committee, this annual award recognises the efforts of University Clubs in the development of participants as well as coaches and volunteers. The award is also to show appreciation for the University introducing and providing a gateway to the sport to their students.

Which University Club do you think deserves national recognition for their contribution to the provision and development of orienteering?

Nominate a University Club for this award today!

The University Club of the Year nomination form can be found here.


Young Volunteer of the Year Award

Originally piloted in 2009 following a Development Committee review.

This annual award is for a volunteer, under the age of 25, who has demonstrated a commitment to supporting delivery of orienteering activity with passion, energy and enthusiasm.

Who do you think deserves to get national recognition for their contribution to the sport of orienteering? Nominate today!

The Young Volunteer of the Year Award nomination form can be found here.


The Silva Award

In 1983 SILVA (Sweden) AB decided to mark the fiftieth anniversary of the first Silva compass by establishing an annual award within each IOF member Federation.

The awards were to enable Federations to honour those who have contributed in a special way to the development of orienteering. With the assistance of SILVA (UK) Ltd this was interpreted, within the UK, as being a person or persons who have made a very significant contribution to orienteering over a period of years, with an emphasis on ‘field' activities rather than committee work.

Nominees for this award may not be active or retiring members of the British Orienteering Board, nor part- or full-time employees of British Orienteering.

All members can nominate someone they believe has made a significant contribution to orienteering through ‘field’ activities.

Who are you going to nominate?

The Silva Award nomination form can be found here.


The Peter Palmer Coach of the Year Award

Coach of the Year award is looking for coaches who demonstrate success in one or more of the following areas:

  • Engaging new people in orienteering
  • Improving the performance of orienteers
  • Mentoring and developing other coaches

Who do you think deserves national recognition for their commitment to coaching orienteering?

The Coach of the Year Award nomination form can be found here.


Nominations are strongly encouraged for all the above 5 award categories.

The closing date for nominations for these awards is: Friday 16 February 2018.

All nomination forms are to be submitted by emailed to

For more information and to see the lists of all previous winners for each of these award categories here.