News Archive


Share  Tweet Friday 15th April 2022

British Orienteering is proud to announce Annual Mapping Award Winners

British Orienteering Annual Volunteer and Mapping Awards Winners have been announced.  

Today we were delighted to present the British Orienteering Annual Awards after a wonderful day of Orienteering competition in Swansea on Day 1 of the JK.  The awards were presented as part of the prize ceremony celebrations.  

Traditionally, the three annual cartographic mapping awards, Chichester, Silva, and Walsh Trophies, would be awarded for maps first used in the previous year.  The Coronavirus epidemic severely limited the number of events held in 2020 and 2021.  Consequently, the Map Advisory Group has agreed to invite nominations in 2022 for maps first used in the two years between 1 January 2020 and 31 December 2021. 

The Bonington Trophy is for contributions to mapping which may have been made over an extended period of time.  


The winners of the 2021 British Orienteering Annual Mapping Awards are... 

The Silva Trophy (for the Best Professional map) 

Graham Gristwood (Forth Valley Orienteers) for the map of Kinlochleven.

Graham Gristwood
Extract from Kinlochleven map


The Chichester Trophy (for the Best Amateur map) 

Dominic Dakin (South Yorkshire Orienteers) for the map of Lodge Moor, Sheffield.

Dominic Dakin, South Yorkshire Orienteers


The Walsh Trophy (for Best Sprint or Urban map) 

Paul Basher (Harlequins Orienteering Club) for the map of Redditch Church Hill.

Paul Basher, Harlequins Orienteering Club 
Map extract from map of Redditch Church Hill


The Bonington Trophy (for Services to Mapping) 

Greg Best (North Gloucestershire Orienteering Club).  

Greg Best, North Gloucestershire Orienteering Club


Congratulations to all of our Mapping Award Winners!

Over the coming week, we will be spotlighting the work and achievements of all this year's British Orienteering Volunteer and Mapping Award winners and runners-up for each award. 

This online celebration starts on Monday 18 April with a spotlight on two of the awards each day over a length of six days. 

The announcements will start on Monday 18 April and will run daily through to Saturday 23 April at 10:00 and 14:00 each day.  

Please have a good look, they are for sure going to be an inspirational read! 

Set a reminder on your phone, and don't miss out! 

The first spotlight in our online celebration will be on the winners and runners-up of the Volunteer of the Year Award on Easter Monday (18 April) at 10:00. 

Following on in the afternoon (18 April) at 14:00, the second spotlight will focus on the winners and runners-up of the Young Volunteers of the Year Award.