News Archive


Share  Tweet Friday 29th March 2024

British Orienteering Annual Awards 2023: Your Club, Coach and Volunteer Award winners!

Today, we are proud to announce the winners of the Club, Coach and Volunteer Awards 2023.

Our Annual Awards recognise the fantastic efforts of those individuals who have tirelessly volunteered to help develop their Club, provided coaching support to nurture talent and performance, inspire inclusion across their local communities and much more. Thank you to everyone who took the time to nominate in this year’s awards!

Here are the Club, Coach and Volunteer Awards 2023 winners:

  • Club of the Year Award Winner: South Yorkshire Orienteers
  • University Club of the Year Award Winner: Cambridge University Club
  • Coach of the Year Award Winner: Peter Tryner, South Yorkshire Orienteers
  • Volunteer of the Year Award Winner: David McCann, Manchester and District Orienteering Club
  • Young Volunteer of the Year Award Winner: Kirsty Ryman, Clydeside Orienteers
  • Development & Innovation of the Year Award Winner: Swansea Bay Orienteering Club
  • Respect the Environment Award Winner: St Andrew’s Orienteering Club of Glasgow
  • Spirit of Inclusion Award Winner: South London Orienteers
  • Continued Contribution to Orienteering Award Winner: Jacky Dakin, South Yorkshire Orienteers
  • Silva Award Winner: Jon Cross, Forth Valley Orienteers

Huge congratulations to all our Club, Coach and Volunteer Award Winners this year. They have received their awards today, at Day 1 of the JK Orienteering Festival 2024.

We would also like to take this opportunity to recognise all our nominees across the award categories for 2023. Your work is extremely valued and we as a National Governing Body we appreciate that without your efforts, our sport would not thrive as much as it has over the past year!

From the 2 April 2024, we will be sharing daily news stories, including more information on our winners of this year’s awards in the word of their peers and nominators. We will also be recognising those who were nominated in the relevant award category. Keep a look out on our website and social media channels for further details.